Monday, May 11, 2015

Deadline fast approaching for 2015 Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction submissions

The University of Georgia Press has announced the 2015 competition for the Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction. This year will be the 30th anniversary of the Award which was established “to encourage gifted young writers by bringing their work to the attention of readers and reviewers.”

The competition is open to residents of North America who write in English.

Judges this year are Hugh Sheehy, Karin Lin-Greenberg, Anjanette Delgado, Kristen Nichols, and Sandra Muñoz. Four of the judges will
each read one-quarter of the submissions and select seven to ten finalists. (The fifth judge will be available if the number of submissions requires it.)

Series editor Nancy Zafris will read the finalists’ manuscripts and select two winners and a runner-up. Winners will receive a cash award of $1,000 and their collections will be published by the UGA Press.

Submissions will be accepted – electronically only – until 5:00 p.m. on May 31, 2015. Use the online submissions manager at There is a $30 entry fee that can be paid online with PayPal or a credit card.

Here are the rules:

  • Manuscripts should be 40,000-75,000 words; Times New Roman font; 12 point size.
  • Collections may include long stories or novellas (defined as 50-150 pages long).
  • Novels or single novellas will not be considered.
  • Pages must be numbered and authors should include a table of contents.
  • It’s a blind judging; your name should not appear on the pages of the manuscript.
  • Stories included in the submission may have appeared in magazines or anthologies, but may not have been previously published in a book-length collection of the author’s own work.
For additional rules and information, see:

No comments:

Post a Comment