Thursday, March 26, 2015

6 Exciting Summer Writing Workshops For 2015, But You'll Need to Hurry or You'll Miss Out

By now, the writers among us have begun applying to summer workshops. It’s not too late for you. Although programs like Breadloaf at Middlebury, Vt. are full, others are still accepting applications. Below are just a few with their faculty lists.


July 21 – August 2 on the campus of Sewanee, The University of the South in Tennessee. Supported by the Estate of Tennessee Williams.
  • Fiction faculty: Richard Bausch, Tony Earley, Adrianne Harun, Randall Kenan, Jill McCorkle, Alice McDermott, Tim O’Brien, Christine Schutt, Allen Wier, and Steve Yarbrough
  • Poetry faculty: Daniel Anderson, B.H. Fairchild, Andrew Hudgens, Maurice Manning, Charles Martin, Mary Jo Salter, A.E. Stallings and Sidney Wade.
  • Playwriting: Dan O’Brien and Paula Vogel
  • Poetry translation workshop: Charles Martin, A.E. Stallings and N.S. Thompson
  • Editors and Agents list on the conference website
  • Information: See for details and applications
  • Deadline: Applications close April 20


August 31 – September 4, Wildacres Retreat, Little Switzerland, North Carolina. Table Rock Writers Workshop grew out of the Duke University Writers Workshop.
  • Classes are between 6 and 12 participants
  • Beginning Fiction: Dawn Shamp
  • Short Stories: Abigail DeWitt
  • Poetry: Phillip Shabazz
  • Writing for Children and Young Adults: John Claude Bemis
  • Memoir and Personal Essays: Judy Goldman
  • Cross the Finish Line with Your Novel: Darnell Arnoult
  • Information: See for details
  • Deadline: Application form on line


July 12-19 in Portland, Oregon
  • Short Fiction: Robert Boswell, Lan Samantha Chang, Manuel Gonzalez, Benjamin Percy, Karen Russell, Jim Shepard, Claire Vaye Watkins
  • Novel Writing: Marlon James, Victor LaValle, Jenny Offill, Karen Shepard
  • Poetry: Natalie Diaz, Cornelius Eady, Tony Hoagland
  • Nonfiction: Charles D’Ambrosio, Maggie Nelson, David Shields
  • Agents and Editors list online
  • Note: Do not send flash or strict genre fiction, children’s or young adult literature with your application.
  • Information: See for details
  • Deadline: Applications accepted on a rolling basis


August 10-16 in Montpelier; “designed for writers with graduate degrees or equivalent experience”
  • Workshops limited to 5 or 6 participants
  • Poetry faculty: Rigoberto Gonzalez, Kathleen Graber, A. Van Jordan, Jamaal May and Patricia Smith
  • Fiction faculty: Andre Dubus III, David Jauss, Ellen Lesser, Lee Martin, Pamela Painter and Xu Xi
  • Creative nonfiction faculty: Richard McCann, Brenda Miller, Sue William Silverman and Anthony Swofford.
  • Information: See for details
  • Deadline: Applications accepted on a rolling basis


July 4-11, Wildacres Retreat, Blue Ridge Mountains, Little Switzerland, North Carolina
  • Classes limited to 10 or less participants
  • Novel Writing Workshops: Therese Anne Fowler, Tommy Hays, Susan Woodring
  • Creative Nonfiction (Book Length): Jessica Handler
  • Essay and Feature Writing for Magazines: Lee Zacharias
  • Short Stories: Ruth Moose
  • Flash Fiction: Luke Whisnant
  • Poetry Writing Workshops: Jim Clark, Janice Moore Fuller
  • Information: See for details

And, once you’ve completed your manuscript and made it the best it can be, pitch it to agents and editors at:


June 4-7, Ripley Greer Studios, 520 Eighth Avenue, New York, New York
  • Workshop Leaders: Caitlin Alexander, Susan Breen, Ann Garvin, Paula Munier and Michael Neff
  • Editors and Agents: Ibrahim Ahmad (Akashic Books); Adrienne Avila (Berkley Publishing Group, a division of Penguin); Stephanie Bowen (Sourcebooks, Inc.); Michael Braff (Del Rey Books, Random House Publishing Group); Jackie Cantor (Berkley Publishing Group, a division of Penguin); Tom Colgan (Penguin); Brendan Deneen (Thomas Dunn Books, a division of St. Martin’s Press/Macmillan); Claire Eddy (Tor Forge Books); Emily Griffin (Grand Central Publishing); Michaela Hamilton (Kensington Publishing); Brent Howard (New American Library, a division of Penguin Group USA); Dana Isaacson (Random House Publishing Group); Peter Joseph (Thomas Dunne Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press); Silissa Kenney (St. Martin’s Press); Lyssa Keusch (William Morrow/Avon imprint of HarperCollins Publishers); Amanda Ng (Penguin Group USA); Leis Pederson (Berkley Publishing Group); Emilia Pisani (Gallery Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster); Michelle Richter (Fuse Literary Agency); Peter Senftleben (Kensington Publishing); Kristin Sevick (Tor/Forge); Hilary Rubin Teeman (St. Martin’s Press); Shannon Jamieson Vazquez (Berkley Books/Penguin); Michelle Vega (Berkley Publishing Group/Penguin Group USA); Abby Zidle (Gallery and Pocket Books); Katharine Sands (Sarah Jane Freymann Literary Agency); Susan Schwartzman (Susan Schwartzman Public Relations)
  • Information: See for details

No comments:

Post a Comment